Press Releases in Hong Kong

First batch of HK district councilors take oath of allegiance

A district councilor of Hong Kong Island (left) swears his allegiance to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and its Basic Law during a ceremony witnessed by at North Point Community Hall on Sept 10, 2021. The oath-taking was administered by Secretary for Home Affairs Caspar Tsui Ying-wai (right). (PHOTO / HKSAR GOVT)

HONG KONG – The first batch of district councilors in Hong Kong swore an oath of allegiance to the special administrative region and its Basic Law at a ceremony on Friday.

Members of district councils of Hong Kong Island attended an oath-taking ceremony at North Point Community Hall

Members of district councils of Hong Kong Island attended the ceremony held at North Point Community Hall. The oath-taking was administered by the Secretary for Home Affairs Caspar Tsui Ying-wai.

Oath-taking for the current 221 district councilors is split into four batches, starting with members of district councils of Hong Kong Island.

ALSO READ: Oath-taking for HK district councilors to begin Friday

The oath administrator determined that the oaths taken by 17 district councilors on Friday were valid.

One of the members of the Eastern District Council, Peter Choi Chi-keung, was regarded as having declined or neglected to take the oath under section 20A of the Oaths and Declarations Ordinance after failing to show up. 

As a result, Choi was required to vacate his office with immediate effect pursuant to section 21 of the ordinance.

Meanwhile, seven district councilors were asked to provide additional information as the oath administrator had doubts on the validity of the oaths taken by them.

READ MORE: HK to require district councilors to take oaths

Hong Kong’s legislature passed a bill in May requiring district councilors to take the oath. The city’s National Security Law also requires those holding public office to take the oath to uphold the Basic Law and pledge allegiance to the city. 

There were 479 district councilors originally, 260 of whom quit for various reasons. Another eight were disqualified for various reasons, including some that were held in custody and some that had left the city.